Ferguson Caras LLC

For David Austin Roses

To Date, 28 English Roses Have Earned
The Royal Horticultural Society’s “Award of Garden Merit”

Crocus Rose
'Crocus Rose'
To Image Gallery

To date, the Royal Horticulture Society (RHS) in London has bestowed its prestigious Award of Garden Merit (AGM) on 28 varieties of David Austin English Roses.

Says the RHS on its website: “This award indicates that the plant is recommended by the RHS.” Initiated in the 1920s, the Award of Garden Merit is bestowed following rigorous trials by the RHS. Only plants meeting its high standards for outstanding quality and reliable garden performance bear the prestigious RHS stamp of approval. The AGM awards are designed to help gardeners make informed choices about plants.

The 28 English Rose varieties that have earned AGM recognition are: ‘A Shropshire Lad’, ‘Charlotte’, ‘Constance Spry’, ‘Crocus Rose’, ‘Darcey Bussell’, ‘Gertrude Jekyll’, ‘Golden Celebration’, ‘Grace’, ‘Graham Thomas’, ‘Kew Gardens’, ‘Lady Emma Hamilton’, ‘Lady of Shalott’, ‘Lichfield Angel’, ‘Molineux’, ‘Mortimer Sackler’, ‘Munstead Wood’, ‘Port Sunlight’, ‘Princess Anne’, ‘Rosemoor’, ‘Scarborough Fair’, ‘Skylark’, ‘Strawberry Hill’, ‘Teasing Georgia’, ‘The Generous Gardener’, ‘The Mayflower’, ‘The Pilgrim’, ‘Wild Edric’ and ‘Wildeve’.

David Austin’s English Roses combine the charm, flower forms, and heady perfumes of Old Roses with the broader color range and repeat-flowering habits of modern roses. As a hybridizer, David Austin’s achievement is in marrying the romantic “English Rose” look with reliable garden performance, vigorous growth, full bushes, disease-resistance and prolific season-long bloom.


Download Word Version of Release